Hey There Candy!

It’s the start of Las Festividades de la Virgen de la Candelaria.  I would even venture to say that this is my least favorite time of the year in Puno.  It’s loud.  It’s full of drunks.  And it’s just plain hypocrisy.

In February, Puno celebrates the Virgen de la Candelaria.  It’s a stupid statue that they carry around and it has this bogus history… somehow this virgen saved Puno.  It’s really just a load and people say they are honoring her and God, but they are just honoring their bodies by fulfilling their carnal pleasures.  It’s mind-numbingly stupid (that’s a line of Phoebe’s on Friends… I love it!).  Last night… or rather at 4:30 this morning, the bands started playing and strutting their stuff up and down the streets while sending off their fireworks.  Thank you city of Puno for the early wake-up call.

I really wish I had a camera.  I’d like to post a picture every now and then…  I feel like my blog has gotten so boring.  :/

Well, Sammy and I decided that we are going to move the church in Ilave.  We don’t know where to yet, but we are searching for another place to rent.  The current place we’re in was not wisely chosen.  It’s set deep in an alley way, and it’s extremely hard to locate.  This should have been done a long time ago, but as you all know, there was much more drama to attend to.  I hate that I ended that sentence with a preposition but, I had to.

Be praying as we go out to find a new place.  It’s definitely a step of faith… the people we have coming to the church may very well be lost, but that’s okay, because if they are coming for God, then they will come no matter where the church temple is.

Also, be praying as we pass through February.  There are drunks everywhere and I’m pretty sure the amount of accidents on the roads go up.  Pray for protection and patience as we deal with the ignorance that is La Virgen de la Candelaria.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hey There Candy!

Leave a Reply

