The End

Tonight, I literally feel the phrase “rest my weary bones.”  As I sank into my bed just now I felt my body tell me thank you for finally stopping.  Today was a big day.  I put as my status on Facebook earlier that “Wanna see if you can be cool-headed under high-pressure situations?  Have a garage sale in Peru!” – or something to that effect.  But, it’s true!

We had a sale in our home today, and the final day of sale is Tuesday.  Everything that we perhaps have accumulated over the past two years, or things that don’t fit us anymore or that we simply won’t need in the next chapter of our lives have been pinned or taped with a price tag and placed before the critical public of Puno.  It has been a successful sale as well as a frustrating one.  People are people no matter what country you are in!

So, here we are, five days until I leave this country.  I have learned a great deal about; God, the Bible, myself, how to treat others, basically many things in all forms of relationships.  I was just telling Kristen this afternoon about what Amanda said once about Extreme, how it can act as a sort of hospital.  It’s been that for me.  When I came to Peru I was spiritually sick, but it was my obedient step to follow God’s plan for my life that lead me the healing.  Peru has been my rehab.  It’s a safe environment with rules backed up by well-clarified authoriy.  I am so pleased and proud of the person that my Lord has formed, and continues to form, me into.  I would be hopeless without Him.

It is sad for me to watch the house be emptied little by little.  My room just seems so spirit-less.  The end is here.  The change is thick in the air and I am floating in it.

We went out to eat rotisserie chicken tonight after we closed the doors of our sale (7 pm) and we had such a good time.  It was Chad, Amanda, Franci, Sammy and me.  We laughed a lot.  And while we were eating and laughing I was thinking about how this really is coming to an end.  It’s not a date that is marked on the calender a month to come from now, but it’s here in less than a week.  There are many things I’m going to miss.  Many things that I will carry in my heart and treasure.  When particular songs play on my iPod or certain smells waft in the air I will transcend to Peru, and my heart will ache to turn back the clock and relive the “glory” of these times.  I know this because it is what always happens.  But, perhaps knowing it now more than ever I can appreciate more the end.

Last night we had a prayer service that to my surprise was more than just that.  The baby congregation in Juliaca had gotten me a farewell gift and had prepared a chicken dinner.  I was surprised, especially since I had said I didn’t want anything, because I know my brothers and sisters there don’t have much to give.  But, I was honored and humbled to be served truly for the first time by these people that I love so much.  I see the pain in their eyes that I say I have to go, but everytime I push them to not look at me, but to look at our Heavenly Father and to love Him.  To love Him more than they love on me.  It’s my prayer that they do.

Me accepting the beautiful gift from my brothers and sisters in Juliaca.

This will probably be my last post on Trevor in Peru.  As you all know I’ve decided to continue working with Extreme and I’ll no longer be working in Peru.  So, of course, I can no longer write as being in Peru!  As this chapter closes, so does this blog.  I will continue blogging, just a different one.  I will let you know when that happens.

Pray for me as I make my way home.  I have been praying for God to increase my faith in Him, and I ask that you help me pray that too.  For the next step I am making with Extreme I have to raise a surrmountable amount of money.  I am nervous, because I only have a month and a half to do it.  God has been leaving me little morsels leading me, comforting me.

And finally, but certainly not of any unimportance, I would like to thank you.  Thank you for your prayers.  Thank you for your financial support.  Thank you for being obedient to the Lord and becoming involved in this ministry.  It would be foolish to think that I have done this alone.  I praise the Lord for you all.  Thank you.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The End

  1. Mom

    We are so proud of you Trevor. And we pray that the work that you and your team began will continue to grow and multiply in Peru! We are praying you home. The table will be set! Love, Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

